Wednesday, 28 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 172

The buddleia is still having flowers, alongside the developing seedheads. 

365 pictures - Day 171

This garrya in our garden is flourishing. I chop it back hard in the spring, and it pushes out lots of fresh new shoots over the summer, accompanied by the little tassels that will open up in late winter. 

Saturday, 24 September 2016

Friday, 23 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 167

The cotoneaster at the back of the garden is having its berries now. It's doing well, considering there's a row of conifers just over the fence!

Thursday, 22 September 2016

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 164

Our Limelight hydrangea gets a pink tinge to the petals as the flower heads mature. 

Saturday, 17 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 161

Another plant poking over our fence from another garden. This one's a leycesteria. 

365 pictures - Day 160

Next door's rose. We're getting all the joy of this!

Friday, 16 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 159

These bushes were flowering in the borders at the garden centre. I think they're some kind of laurel. 

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Monday, 12 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 156

It's still flowering!

365 pictures - Day 155

The grape hyacinths are poking through beneath the acer already. They won't flower until April, but it's a nice carpet of green over the winter. 

Sunday, 11 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 154

Wet and gloomy all day. Yet the garden is fresh, green, and hanging with raindrops. 

Friday, 9 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 153

The berries on our rowan are swelling and changing colour. They'll be a goldy-orange on this tree. 

Thursday, 8 September 2016

Tuesday, 6 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 150

A red oak in close-up, showing the beautifully shaped leaves. They'll turn a gorgeous colour in October/November. 

365 pictures - Day 149

Raspberries. 

Sunday, 4 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 148

That clematis that had the lovely lilac flowers earlier in the year? When the petals drop and the seeds swell, it comes up with these fabulous punky hairdos. 

Saturday, 3 September 2016

365 pictures - Day 147

Verbena bonariensis. Gorgeous border plants that seeded themselves. I meant to move them further back in the border, but didn't really get round to it. They look lovely where they are for the time being. 

Friday, 2 September 2016

Thursday, 1 September 2016